Frequently asked Questions
Yes, the complete range of Werther’s Original confectionery is suitable for vegetarians.
Although none of our Werther’s Original products contain nuts in their recipes and we take the utmost care during production, there is a risk of cross contamination in the factory so we cannot guarantee that they are absolutely nut free.
All Werther’s Original products sold in the United States are free of pork and alcohol products and by-products, however our products sold in the U.S. do not have the kosher seal at this time.
No. Although our products do meet the FDA requirements of testing at less than 20 ppm for gluten content, we have chosen not to label our products as “gluten-free” at this time. If you have a gluten allergy, we recommend that you speak to your physician before consuming our product.
None of our products manufactured in Germany contain GMO’s. Products manufactured in Germany are affected by the Regulation (EC) No 1829/2003 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 September 2003 on genetically modified food and feed. Based on this law we do not use genetically modified ingredients in any of these products. However, Werther's Original Caramel Popcorn, which is produced in the United States, is partially produced with genetic engineering.
All our candy is packaged in a way that provides the best protection from the environment. Always store it in a cool, dry place away from strong odors, once the packs are opened.
Each piece of Werther’s Original Sugar Free has 3 carbs. The serving size of Werthers Original Sugar Free is 5 pieces of 16g and the carb amount per serving is 15g.
No. There are 40 calories per serving.
The sugar substitute used is Isomalt and the artificial sweetener use is Acesulfame – K (ace-k). The asesulfame K does not contain aspertame. There is no aspartame in Werther’s Original Sugar Free.
These candies do not contain real sugar, which requires the use of isomalt in the ingredients. Isomalt is a common ingredient found in most sugar free candies, and you will find this same laxative warning printed on most sugar free candy products. There is not a defined amount of candy that can be consumed before you will feel any ill effects & some consumers do not have any side affects. The laxative effect is determined by how your individual body reacts to this kind of ingredient.